DaHui Lawyers

English  |  中文

rss feed

搜索

搜索本页

2020年06月25日

《外国投资者对上市公司战略投资管理办法》修订草案发布

2020年6月18日,六部委[1]联合下发《外国投资者对上市公司战略投资管理办法》(修订草案公开征求意见稿,“新草案”),对现行的《外国投资者对上市公司战略投资管理办法》(“战投办法”)[2]进行全面修订。2018年商务部曾发布过战投办法的修订草案(“原草案”)[3],计划对战投办法进行重大修订。本次新草案条款保留了原草案的主要修订内容,并结合2018年以来的中国外商投资法规调整(特别是《外商投资法》)进行更新。本文将结合新草案在原草案基础上的新修订以及沿袭原草案对战投办法修订,简要概述新草案生效后对于战投办法的主要影响。

新草案取消商务部门事先审批和备案

战投办法(包括原草案)均要求外国投资者在投资前办理商务部门的审批或备案,与《外商投资法》对境内外投资者一视同仁的主旨不符。新草案不要求外国投资者对中国上市公司进行“战略投资”[4]前向商务部或其下属商务主管部门申请批准或办理备案(但该投资属于“负面清单”[5]的情况除外)。 商务部门将仅对外国投资者及上市公司履行外商投资信息报告义务的情况实施监督检查。[6]新草案规定的上述简政放权及其他流程简化将大大提高战略投资的审批效率,并提供新的交易机会。[7]

其他主要修订

此前原草案拟对战投办法规定的外国投资者对上市公司“战略投资”(包括战略投资的界定)进行一系列重大修订。新草案沿袭了原草案大部分修订,并进一步调整更新,主要包括:

  • 战略投资方式增加要约收购。战投办法明文规定的外国投资者对中国上市公司战略投资的方式仅包括协议转让或上市公司定向发行新股两种方式。[8]这两种方式理论上可包括要约收购方式,但通过要约收购对上市公司战略投资的案例此前非常少见。本次修订为外国投资者通过要约收购对上市公司战略投资提供了明确依据。
  • 降低非控股型投资者的资产标准。战投办法规定外国投资者对中国上市公司投资的,该外国投资者(或其母公司)应满足境外实有资产总额不低于1亿美元或管理的境外实有资产总额不低于5亿美元。本次修订把外国投资者区分为控股型外国投资者和非控股型外国投资者。前者仍要求符合现行标准;后者标准降低为外国投资者实有资产总额不低于5000万美元或其管理的境外实有资产总额不低于1亿美元。此外,新草案和原草案均删去了上述标准中的“境外”要求,似乎表明上述外国投资者的资产标准可拓展到外国投资者持有的中国境内资产,但这一解读仍有待政府部门进一步解释确认。最后,新草案规定如果外国投资者(例如没有充足资产的特殊目的公司)不满足上述资产标准,但如果该外国投资者的全资投资者(指全资拥有外国投资者的外国法人或其他组织、外国自然人)满足上述资产标准且该全资投资者对外国投资者的投资行为承担不可撤销的连带责任,则仍可进行该投资。[9]
  • 删去持股不低于10%要求。战投办法规定外国投资者在首次投资完成后持有上市公司已发行股份比例应不低于10%。[10]原草案和新草案均删去了该要求,但新草案对通过协议转让或要约收购方式进行战略投资的,仍要求外国投资者持有上市公司股比不低于5%。[11]
  • 允许境外自然人投资。根据战投办法的规定,外国投资者范围仅包括符合规定的外国法人或其他组织。原草案和新草案均允许符合要求[12]的境外自然人投资上市公司。[13]
  • 限售期缩短为12个月。此前战投办法要求外国投资者持有上市公司股份的限售期为36个月。原草案和新草案将限售期缩短为12个月。 [14]但新草案也规定通过下属企业进行战略投资的全资投资者转让外国投资者股权从而间接转让上市公司股份,也应符合上述限售期规定。
  • 允许跨境换股。战投办法未对跨境换股做出规定,但此前商务部《关于外国投资者并购境内企业的规定》(“并购规定”)做了相应规定。原草案和新草案则放宽了对于跨境换股交易方式的限制。此前并购规定要求外国投资者收购境内公司(包括上市公司)股权时仅可以转让或增发境外上市公司股份,或由中国境内公司或中国籍自然人持有的特殊目的公司增发股权作为对价。本次修订明确允许以任何境外公司的股权作为对价。[15]

总结

新草案和原草案反映了中国对外国投资者进一步开放的趋势下的重大举措。本次发布的新草案不仅是为与最新外商投资法规相衔接而进行的必要修订和调整,更是为拓宽外资参与中国资本市场路径的积极探索,并有望于近期正式发布。事实上,本次修订的很多内容均已在实践中予以实施或有所体现。例如,上海莱士(深圳证券交易所代码:002252)发行股份购买基立福(Grifols)持有的GDS股份交易涉及跨境换股,在该交易进行时相关现行法规(即并购规定和战投办法)并未对此类跨境换股有明确法律规定。尽管此前在战投办法的实施过程中,政府主管部门已采取较为灵活的处理方式,[16]并积极推动了外国投资者投资于中国以及中国上市公司寻求境外商业合作机会,新草案的正式公布预计仍将进一步增强市场的信心和中国资本市场对外资的吸引力。



[1] 商务部、中国证券监督管理委员会、国务院国有资产监督管理委员会、国家税务总局、国家市场监督管理总局、国家外汇管理局。

[2] 《外国投资者对上市公司战略投资管理办法》),2005年12月31日公布,2015年10月28日修订。

[3] 《外国投资者对上市公司战略投资管理办法》(修订草案公开征求意见稿),商务部、中国证券监督管理委员会、国务院国有资产监督管理委员会、国家税务总局、国家市场监督管理总局、国家外汇管理局2018年7月30日发布。

[4] 战投办法第五条对“战略投资”作了一系列界定,但新草案对战略投资的定义做了较大修订(见下述)。

[5] 现行的“负面清单”包括商务部和国家发展与改革委员会发布的两项清单,即(a) 《外商投资准入特别管理措施(负面清单》,在除自由贸易试验区(“自贸区”)和港澳台地区外的全国范围适用;(b) 《自由贸易试验区外商投资准入特别管理措施(负面清单》,在自贸区内适用。两项清单在其各自适用区域内列出了一系列限制或禁止外商投资的行业领域。最新的2020年版负面清单已于2020年6月23日发布,并将于2020年7月23日起施行。

[6] 主要基于《外商投资法》和《外商投资信息报告办法》(商务部、国家市场监督管理总局2019年12月30日公布)相关规定。

[7] 与原草案完全取消战投办法对外国战略投资者的最低持股要求不同,新草案规定协议转让方式下外国投资者取得的上市公司股份不低于5%,要约收购方式下外国投资者预定收购的上市公司股份不低于5%。

[8] 战投办法第五条。该条也规定外国投资者可以以“国家法律法规规定的其他方式”取得上市公司股权。此外,新草案规定的“战略投资”明确排除了以下方式:

  1. 合格境外机构投资者和人民币合格境外机构投资者对上市公司投资;
  2. 外国投资者通过沪港通、深港通、沪伦通等股票市场交易互联互通机制对上市公司投资;
  3. 外国投资者通过所投资的外商投资股份有限公司首次公开发行股票并上市的方式取得A股股份;
  4. 符合中国证监会有关规定的外国自然人在二级市场买卖上市公司股份或通过股权激励取得上市公司股份。

[9] 原草案也提供了相似的外国投资者替代标准,但原草案下满足上述替代标准的为外国投资者的实际控制人,而不限于全资投资者。新草案的要求更为严格。

[10] 但特殊行业有特别规定或经相关主管部门批准的除外。

[11]  战略投资通过协议转让方式实施的,外国投资者取得的股份比例不得低于该上市公司已发行股份的百分之五;战略投资通过要约收购方式实施的,外国投资者预定收购的上市公司股份比例不得低于该上市公司已发行股份的百分之五。实践中,战投办法的10%持股比例要求已在商务部审批实践中被突破。自2015年以来,已有多个外国投资者对上市公司战略投资案例中的外国投资者持股比例低于10%,但此类审批通常是一事一议,对未来交易而言仍有不确定性。原草案和新草案删去该10%要求,增加了此类交易的确定性。

[12] 新草案规定外国自然人除需符合前述外国投资者的资产标准外,还应具备相应的风险识别和承担能力。

[13] 在现行战投办法下,境外自然人只能通过QFII/RQFII,或IPO前入股等方式持有上市公司股份。

[14] 但《证券法》和证监会规定、证券交易所规则对股份限售期有更长期限要求的,从其规定。例如根据证监会规定,如果外国投资者通过锁价定向增发的方式进行战略投资,限售期为18个月。

[15] 但跨境换股仍需符合以下条件:

  1. 境内上市公司拟取得其股份的境外公司应合法设立并且注册地具有完善的公司法律制度,且该境外公司及其管理层最近3年未受到境内外监管机构重大处罚;战略投资通过协议转让方式实施的,境外公司应为上市公司;
  2. 外国投资者合法持有境外公司股份并依法可转让,或外国投资者合法增发股份;
  3. 境内上市公司仍需遵守《境外投资管理办法》的规定,完成境外投资的相关核准/备案手续;
  4. 跨境换股应符合《证券法》、《公司法》及国务院、中国证监会的相关规定。

[16] 见前述脚注11。

› 更多出版物

DaHui Lawyers

English  |  中文

rss feed

Search

Search This Section

25 Jun 2020

China Releases a Further Draft Amendment of the Regulations for Foreign Investors’ Strategic Investments in Listed Companies

On 18 June 2020, a draft amendment of the Administrative Measures for Strategic Investment by Foreign Investors in Listed Companies (“New Draft Measures”) was jointly released by six major PRC government departments.[1] This is not the first draft amendment of the measures, originally issued in 2005 (“Current Measures”):[2] the most significant revamp was proposed in a draft amendment of 2018 (“Old Draft Measures”).[3] The New Draft Measures resemble the Old Draft Measures in almost all key respects and appear mainly to reflect updates that have otherwise been made to China’s foreign investment regulatory framework since 2018, particularly by the Foreign Investment Law. This newsletter will highlight the most significant updates of the New Draft Measures, as compared to the Old Draft Measures, while recapping the amendments that would be made to the Current Measures if the revamp first proposed in 2018 and carried forward in this month’s release were to come into effect. 

The New Draft Measures: Eliminating Prior Approval and Filing Requirements

The Foreign Investment Law put forth above all a largely level playing field for foreign and domestic investors, which gainsays the Current Measures (and even the Old Draft Measures) subjecting foreign investments to prior approvals from, or prior filings with, the Ministry of Commerce (“MOFCOM”) or its branches. Thus the New Draft Measures have no requirement that foreign “strategic investments”[4] in PRC listed companies go through any approvals or filings, provided the investments do not fall within the so-called “Negative Lists”;[5] instead, MOFCOM branches would only supervise information-reporting by foreign investors and listed companies.[6] This and some further procedural simplifications proposed by the New Draft Measures should render foreign “strategic investments” in PRC listed companies easier and faster to make if not also rendering possible some that are now impossible or in practice not made.[7]

The Old and New Draft Measures: A Major Revamp

The Old Draft Measures proposed numerous ground-breaking changes to the framework for foreign strategic investments (beginning with what qualifies as such), which the New Draft Measures carry forward with very few and minor adjustments. The following are the key changes, with the relevant adjustments of the New Draft Measures noted:

  • Strategic Investments Can Be Made by Tender Offer. The Current Measures provide for foreign strategic investments in PRC listed companies to be carried out via either share transfer agreements or new share issuances.[8] While these could in theory encompass investments via tender offers, such approaches were rarely seen in practice – at least until recently. The proposed amendments would expressly provide for foreign strategic investments in PRC listed companies carried out via tender offers. 
  • Lower Monetary Threshold to Obtain a Non-Controlling Interest. Under the Current Measures, to make a strategic investment in a PRC listed company, a foreign investor (or its parent) must have total overseas assets of not less than USD 100 million or manage at least USD 500 million. The proposed amendments would distinguish between foreign investors who are (or will be) controlling investors and non-controlling ones: the former would be subject to the same old thresholds but the latter’s thresholds would be reduced to USD 50 million and USD 300 million, respectively. Moreover, the Old and New Draft Measures drop the qualifier “overseas” and thus would appear to broaden the scope of assets to be counted (i.e., to including assets already in China) for either type of investor, though this would be subject to interpretation by competent authorities. Finally, under the New Draft Measures, if a foreign investor (such as an SPV without sufficient assets) cannot meet the relevant monetary threshold above, the targeted investment may still be made if the holder of 100% of the foreign investor’s equity (“Wholly-Owning Parent”) meets the relevant threshold and irrevocably assumes joint and several liability for the targeted investment.[9]
  • Lock-Up Period Only 12 Months. The Current Measures call for foreign investors to hold shares of the listed companies for a lock-up period of 36 months. Under the proposed amendments, the lock-up period would be only 12 months.[10] However, the New Draft Measures add an express provision that a Wholly-Owning Parent making strategic investments via its subsidiary (as mentioned above) may not circumvent the lock-up period by transferring equity of its subsidiary (i.e., the foreign investor).
  • No Minimum 10% Shareholding Threshold. The Current Measures require that a foreign investor hold a minimum 10% of the total issued shares of the listed company after completion of the initial investment.[11] This threshold is eliminated in the Old and New Draft Measures, although the New Draft Measures include a minimum 5% shareholding threshold for strategic investments in listed companies via transfers by agreement or tender offers.[12] 
  • Foreign Individuals Can Invest. While only foreign legal persons (i.e., corporations) and legally-cognizable organizations are allowed to make strategic investments in PRC listed companies under the Current Measures, the proposed amendments would extend the framework to foreign natural persons,[13] subject to certain further conditions.[14]
  • Cross-Border Swaps. Although the Current Measures’ lack of provision for cross-border share swaps was addressed in 2006 by the Provisions on the Merger and Acquisition of Domestic Enterprises by Foreign Investors (“M&A Provisions”), the Old and New Draft Measures further open up possibilities for such share swaps. Briefly, while the M&A Provisions permitted a foreign investor to purchase shares of PRC domestic companies (including listed companies) by transferring or issuing equity of a foreign listed company or issuing equity of a special purpose vehicle owned by a domestic company or a Chinese individual, the proposed amendments to the Current Measures would allow equity of any foreign company to be used as consideration.[15] 

Takeaways

The Old and New Draft Measures reflect significant steps in the general trend of China opening up to foreign investment, with the draft being released this month hopefully not only as a “pro forma” update for alignment with the latest related laws but also a signal that the proposed amendments will be officially issued in the near term. In fact, however, many of the proposed amendments have for some time been signaled and even already applied in practice. For example, the acquisition by Shanghai RAAS (Shenzhen Stock Exchange: 002252) of equity of GDS held by Grifols involved a cross-border share swap not specifically provided for by existing law (i.e., the M&A Provisions alongside the Current Measures).[16] While it is a positive development, both for foreign investors eyeing China and Chinese listed companies seeking foreign opportunities, that regulators are already manifesting flexibility in applying the requirements of the Current Measures, officially issuing the New Draft Measures would instill further confidence in the market. 



[1] Administrative Measures for Strategic Investment by Foreign Investors in Listed Companies (Draft Revisions for Public Opinion) (《外国投资者对上市公司战略投资管理办法》(修订草案公开征求意见稿)), issued by the Ministry of Commerce, China Securities Regulatory Commission, State-Owned Asset Supervision and Administration Commission of the State Council, State Administration of Taxation, State Administration for Market Regulation, and State Administration of Foreign Exchange.

[2] Administrative Measures for Strategic Investment by Foreign Investors in Listed Companies (《外国投资者对上市公司战略投资管理办法》), first issued on 31 December 2005, revised on 28 October 2015 by the deletion of one clause.

[3] Administrative Measures for Strategic Investment by Foreign Investors in Listed Companies (Draft Revisions for Public Opinion) (《外国投资者对上市公司战略投资管理办法》(修订草案公开征求意见稿)), issued by the Ministry of Commerce, China Securities Regulatory Commission, State-Owned Asset Supervision and Administration Commission of the State Council, State Administration of Taxation, State Administration for Market Regulation, and State Administration of Foreign Exchange on 30 July 2018.

[4] The Current Measures, primarily Article 5, apply a rubric by which an investment is identified as “strategic”; this rubric would be significantly altered by the proposed amendments, as touched on further below in this newsletter.

[5]  The “Negative List” system currently in force is composed of 2 lists jointly issued by MOFCOM and the National Development and Reform Commission, namely: (a) the Special Administrative Measures for Access of Foreign Investment (Negative List), which applies to the PRC except for pilot free trade zones (“FTZs”), and (b) the Special Administrative Measures for Access of Foreign Investment in Pilot Free Trade Zones (Negative List), which applies to FTZs. They each for their territorial scope set out a few dozen PRC industry sectors in which foreign investment is restricted or entirely prohibited. The latest, 2020 editions of the Negative Lists were published on 23 June 2020 and will enter into force on 23 July 2020.

[6] For more on information-reporting requirements, see the Foreign Investment Law and the Measures for Reporting of Information on Foreign Investment, the latter jointly issued by the MOFCOM and the State Administration for Market Regulation on 30 December 2019.

[7] However, the New Draft Measures include a minimum shareholding threshold for certain strategic investments; although the threshold is lower and more narrowly applicable than that applicable under the Current Measures, the Old Draft Measures did not include any such threshold at all. See the next section of this newsletter for details.

[8] See, e.g., Article 5 of the Current Measures, which (per standard PRC practice) also includes a catch-all means for making the investment, i.e., “or otherwise prescribed by national laws and rules”. Note that, under the New Draft Measures (with marginal updating of the Old Draft Measures), many means of acquiring shares in a PRC listed company are expressly excluded from the “strategic investment” framework, including:

  1. Qualified Foreign Institutional Investors and RMB Qualified Foreign Institutional Investors investing in listed companies;
  2. Foreign investors investing in listed companies via stock exchange link mechanisms such as the Shanghai–Hong Kong Link, the Shenzhen–Hong Kong Link, and the Shanghai–London Link.
  3. Foreign investors investing in foreign invested companies limited by shares, which then become listed companies via initial public offerings (potentially including initial listings on NEEQ based on the context).
  4. Foreign individuals acquiring shares of listed companies in secondary markets or via stock options in compliance with the relevant rules of the China Securities Regulatory Commission.

[9] The Old Draft Measures provided essentially the same alternative means of meeting the threshold but allowed any parent company, not only a 100% owner, to meet the threshold and assume liability: the New Draft Measures are thus more exacting.

[10] Unless the Securities Law, regulations of the China Securities Regulatory Commission (“CSRC”), or rules of the stock exchanges require a longer lock-up period. For example, the CSRC regulations provide that if the foreign investor acquires shares of a listed company in a private placement without a bidding process, the lock-up period is 18 months.

[11] Unless specific rules applicable to certain industries provide otherwise or the investment is otherwise approved by the competent regulatory authorities.

[12] For a strategic investment in the form of a transfer by agreement, the foreign investor should acquire a minimum 5% of the total issued shares of the listed company; for a strategic investment taking the form of a tender offer, the foreign investor should offer to acquire a minimum 5% of the total issued shares of the listed company. In practice, the 10% minimum shareholding threshold has often been de facto disregarded by MOFCOM in its  approvals. Since 2015, many foreign investors made strategic investments in PRC listed companies with shareholdings of less than 10%. However, these investments were approved on a case-by-case basis, which leaves uncertainties for future cases. The Old and New Draft Measures increased certainties for similar transactions by deleting the 10% shareholding threshold.

[13] Note that outside the existing framework for strategic investments, foreign natural persons have succeeded in obtaining shares of listed companies via alternative means, e.g., as QFII/RQFII or pre-IPO investments.

[14] The proposed amendments set forth that foreign individuals will need to have the capacity for risk recognition and liability assumption corresponding to their investments in addition to meeting the monetary threshold applicable to foreign legal persons. 

[15] The following generic conditions, however, apply to cross-border share swaps:

  1. The foreign company whose shares are to be acquired by the PRC listed company as consideration must be legally incorporated in a jurisdiction with sound corporate laws in place, it and its senior management must have not been given any major punishment by any PRC or foreign regulatory authority in the last three years, and if the strategic investment in the PRC listed company will be carried out via a share transfer agreement, the foreign company must be a public company.
  2. The foreign investor must lawfully hold the shares of the foreign company and they must be transferable in accordance with the law, or the foreign investor must lawfully issue new shares in accordance with the law.
  3. The PRC listed company must still obtain the filings/approvals for its investment in the foreign company or investor in compliance with the Measures for the Administration of Foreign Investment.
  4. The cross-border share swap must also comply with the Securities Lawthe Company Law, and the relevant provisions of the State Council and the CSRC.

[16] See also footnote 11.

› More Insights